My retirement anniversary!

One year ago today I retired after a total of twelve years at a Seattle nonprofit.

I had no idea what I was headed for!

In some ways, this has been the hardest year of my life. The realization that I needed to stop working for awhile was a tough one for me. I figured I would take a few months off and find a groovy little part time job.

Well, I tried!

Truth is, I was worn out and have needed a break!

So, it has been the worst of times and the best of times–who said that? Oh yeah, a chap named Charles Dickens.

Throughout my life, I’ve seen the most personal growth during the difficult periods. Going through those tough times helped me to re-evaluate my life, take some tentative steps towards change, and implement those changes.

The past year has given me a chance to stop and enjoy life for a change–spending time with friends and family, taking care of my health, getting lots of sleep, reading, and paying games like Words with Friends and Words on Tour.

After I let go of judging myself for not working, I started having some fun! After working at a frantic pace for years, I listened to what my body was telling me and let up on myself.

So, on the whole it has been the best of times, with more good times to follow.

Onward, with confidence and joy!

And Happy Retirement Anniversary to me!

hammock

About boomergrl49

Mom, Grandma, social worker, blogger. I love reading fiction of all kinds, and I'm also addicted to television, especially Fringe!

Posted on June 27, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. So happy you are finding time to take care of YOU!!! You deserve to live and have a little fun while you do it.. Happy Retirement!!

