Winter Storm Juno: Northeast Snowstorm Ramping Up; Blizzard Conditions Forecast in 7 States – weather.com

Winter Storm Juno: Northeast Snowstorm Ramping Up; Blizzard Conditions Forecast in 7 States – weather.com.

For anyone in the path of this historic storm, I hope you stay safe, warm, and well.

And I hope the storm is not as bad as it is being predicted.

As I sit at my computer in Seattle, the sun is shining and the high temperature is supposed to reach 61 degrees F today.

And I’m thinking of another east coast storm, circa 1977 or so. I was living in rural New York State (Wolcott, NY), less than one mile from Lake Ontario, and a monster storm was predicted. In our neighborhood, lake effect snow was a given during the winter months. There was no internet, of course, but television, radio, and newspaper stories cautioned that a monster storm would paralyze us for days.

Mom and Dad called and told me to get ready for a store run, to get supplies for this storm. My son and I bundled up, and Dad drove us to Sodus, NY, to stock up. The grocery store in Sodus was out of bread and milk, so we got back in the car and traveled to Newark. Thankfully, the Wegman’s store in Newark still had lots of food, so we stocked up.

Dad drove us home so we could stock our refrigerators and cupboards.

I made some lunch for my son and I, and we started putting together puzzles and watching out for the storm.

And the storm never came.

We talked about the storm that never came for years!

I’m pretty sure that weather forecasting has gotten more efficient since the 1970s, but if you are in the path of this storm, I hope this is your storm that never comes!

About boomergrl49

Mom, Grandma, social worker, blogger. I love reading fiction of all kinds, and I'm also addicted to television, especially Fringe!

Posted on January 26, 2015, in The Weather Channel. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Winter Storm Juno: Northeast Snowstorm Ramping Up; Blizzard Conditions Forecast in 7 States – weather.com.

Comments are closed.

