buying myself flowers

I’ve been gifted with lovely fresh flowers twice in the past few months, and both times I thought, wow, nobody ever gives me flowers.

As I was pondering this perceived lack of appreciation, I asked myself a question: How come I’m not buying myself flowers? And then I resolved to buy fresh flowers myself, whenever I feel the need to feel appreciated.

So today I bought myself the flowers you see above.

$4.99 at QFC, and just looking at these flowers brings a huge smile to my face. Of course, now I wish I had bought two five dollar bouquets, but what the hey. This is still lots of pretty for 5 bucks.

It’s my vacation present to myself–this is a staycation for one week.

I find traveling as stressful as working, quite frankly.

Driving, running to catch airplanes, etc.

So I’m home to catch up on my sleep, read some books, and go on some awesome day trips.

Tomorrow I’m off to The Seattle International Film Festival to see me daughter-in-law’s short film Bunker.

And, for fun, I’m adding a little Luciano to this post (I hope all of these links work).

About boomergrl49

Mom, Grandma, social worker, blogger. I love reading fiction of all kinds, and I'm also addicted to television, especially Fringe!

Posted on May 27, 2012, in Bunker, staycation. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Way to go, Girl! No, I really mean that – both about the flowers & the staycationing. Travel is way too stressful & expensive anymore! I find more enjoyment sitting & meditating on my flowers. And yours.

  2. Thanks, GL! The flowers are so pretty, and taking the time for that extra cup of coffee is wonderful! And I may even take a nap this afternoon πŸ™‚

  3. Hey B don’t forget those nice getaway stays at the fancy hotel with the elegant rooms you like so much..I think treating ourselves is a great way to make us feel special. Whatever it is you deserve it!!! πŸ™‚

  4. Hey Carol, I did think about getting away to a posh hotel, then I had an attack of the cheaps πŸ™‚ Just didn’t want to spend the dough πŸ™‚

  5. You know I have NEVER bought myself flowers! Maybe I should sometime πŸ™‚

    Enjoy every moment of your time off :))

  6. Hey Lady Banana, it makes me feel like a rich old dame πŸ™‚ Thanks, I am having a great time so far.

