Banned Books Week

Banned Books Week.

Please take a moment to read 50 Banned Books that everyone should read.

Well, I missed blogging about Banned Books week, September 24 to October 1, thanks to feeling like dog poop all week.

But things are looking up–the decongestant is working, thank goodness, so I just want to say one thing: Don’t let anyone ever tell you what you can or cannot read.

It’s your right to read the words that writers share.

Why be afraid of words, of stories, the retelling of what’s already happened?

If a book offends you, don’t read it. Don’t let your minor children read it, and sit around over tea and crumpets telling all your friends how frightfully shocking the Harry Potter (or Catcher in the Rye, Forever, or The Golden Compass) books are, how they are corrupting our society, etc.

But please don’t try to restrict my access to these books.

I’ve seen, experienced, and heard about, far more shocking things in everyday life from working and living in this world for sixty-two years.

And I’m a free woman, able to come and go as I please, and read whatever blows my hair back.

So there.

Deal with it.

And now I’m going to read some Harry Potter, in honor of Banned Books Week.

About boomergrl49

Mom, Grandma, social worker, blogger. I love reading fiction of all kinds, and I'm also addicted to television, especially Fringe!

Posted on October 2, 2011, in Banned Books Week, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. My goodness… most of those are books we should read…In my opinion.. I am a Harry Potter fan (yes, our whole family read them) because those alone introduced many children to reading that may never have picked up a book. There’s a reason these are under “fiction”. In that case, so should Cinderella, Snow White and Sleeping Beauty be banned.

    Read on my friend…..Think I will reread one of my favorites. “The Geat Gatsby”, just because.

  2. I haven’t read any of them. Ha!

  3. Maybe they should also ban the bible!

    I’ve not read many of those books but maybe I should now..

  4. Teena, I’ve not read some of them!

  5. Lady Banana, the Bible does have some racy parts!

