9/11/2001

Some days stand out in your memory, indelibly etched in your mind and heart.

I’ll never forget the day that President Kennedy was assassinated.

On September 11, 2001, I woke up before 6:00 a.m. Pacific Time, much earlier than my usual time.

Something compelled me to turn on the television for the morning news, and I saw that the World Trade Center’s North Tower had been hit. I was still watching, shortly after 6:00 a.m., when the second airliner crashed into the South Tower.

I cried out, and my mom, sleeping in her bedroom, called out, “What’s wrong?”

“The United States is being attacked,” I told her, going into her bedroom and giving her the details.

Somehow, I got ready for work and started for the bus that would take me into downtown Seattle. I had my transistor radio and headphones on, I needed to know what was happening.

I was on the Sound Transit 550 bus when the North Tower collapsed. I cried out, and two ladies, gossiping behind me on the bus, asked me what was wrong.

“The North Tower of the World Trade Center just collapsed,” I answered.

“Yeah, but it’s not happening HERE, is it?” One lady answered. Then they started gossiping again, shaking their heads at this crazy lady on the bus.

I didn’t ask them if they knew what was going on; they’d know soon enough.

I stayed at work for about four hours, then went home to watch the awful details on television.

My mom was watching those awful details when I got home; we sat there for the remainder of the afternoon and evening, both of us crying for everyone: those people lost, their families and friends, all of us.

As I tried to sleep on the night of 9/11/2001, I realized that everyone I loved was safe and sound. I said a prayer of thanks for that.

And then I remembered that each day is a gift; we are all going to die, someday, we just don’t know how and when.

Today, my thoughts are with all who lost their lives on 9/11/2001, their friends and families.

May we never forget them.

And may we all welcome each day with joy!

Welcome every morning with a smile. Look on the new day as another special gift from your Creator, another golden opportunity to complete what you were unable to finish yesterday. Be a self-starter. Let your first hour set the theme of success and positive action that is certain to echo through your entire day. Today will never happen again. Don’t waste it with a false start or no start at all. You were not born to fail. Og Mandino

About boomergrl49

Mom, Grandma, social worker, blogger. I love reading fiction of all kinds, and I'm also addicted to television, especially Fringe!

Posted on September 11, 2011, in 9/11/2001. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Our thoughts are also with those that lost their lives, families and friends. Every day is another brand new day to cherish.

  2. I think each and every one of us will remember forever the moment we heard of this..

    For me, I was at work, just had lunch and someone from the office came to tell us, still makes me shiver..

  3. me too, Lady Banana. Thanks for sharing your experience.

  4. Thanks for your comment, Keats.

  5. I was at work. We all huddled in the kitchen watching it happen on TV. We were all told to go home because there was a fear that downtown Toronto would be next.

  6. I’m glad Toronto was spared on 9/11, Teena. It’s a great city, or it was when I visited in the 70s 🙂