Labor Day U.S.A.

Monday is Labor day in the U.S.A.

What the heck is Labor Day?

For me, it’s more than an extra day off (although this is wonderful), more than the end of summer.

Photo credit.

Labor Day is a day to honor American workers, past, present, and future.

It’s also a day to honor people working one (or more) jobs, those looking for work, and those who have given up looking for work.

And this year, with the U.S.A. unemployment rate at a whopping 9.1%, I think it’s time we remind our fearless leaders in Washington (Republicans and Democrats) to quit having temper tantrums over t.v. time slots and find ways to create jobs for U.S. workers.

I would remind our fearless leaders that work is not just about having a paycheck (paychecks are totally groovy, though); work also gives workers meaningful activities, and hopefully, a sense of accomplishment. Whether we serve coffee and toast, write books people read, change bedpans, or design web pages, work gives us a chance to use our brains and hearts to create, to serve others, to be a part of this world we live in.

Okay, I will get off my soapbox, at least for now, and share this quote with you:

Far and away the best prize that life has to offer is the chance to work hard at work worth doing.
Theodore Roosevelt

Happy Labor Day, U.S.A.

About boomergrl49

Mom, Grandma, social worker, blogger. I love reading fiction of all kinds, and I'm also addicted to television, especially Fringe!

Posted on September 3, 2011, in Labor Day. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I’ll join you on your soapbox. I’m tired of us giving countries money to “rebuild” when our own is falling apart.

  2. Thanks, Kathy.

  3. Hope you enjoy your long weekend!

  4. Thanks, Lady Banana! It’s going to be a lovely weekend, weather wise, so I’m headed outside today to get some sun and fresh air! Have a great weekend!

  5. Thanks, Teena!

