Everyone’s talking about: The Hunger Games

I was on the bus tonight, coming home from work, and the lady sitting next to me was reading her Kindle.
“What you reading?” Her friend asked.
“Catching Fire,” the lady answered, and without thinking I jumped into their conversation, telling them how much I loved reading this book, and that I’m waiting for “Mockingjay” to be delivered.
I’ve never seen these people before, probably won’t again, but we looked at one another, smiled, and wished each other good reading.
Books, be they paper or electronic, are great ice breakers on the commuter bus. Especially best selling books!
Good reading all!
About boomergrl49

Mom, Grandma, social worker, blogger. I love reading fiction of all kinds, and I'm also addicted to television, especially Fringe!

Posted on June 28, 2011, in Kindle, The Hunger Games. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I haven't read any of them but I love the actress, Jennifer Lawrence from “Winter's Bone”. Just knowing she's in the movie has peeked my interest in the books. (Along with your recommendation form the first one.)

  2. I love those moments of literary kinship 🙂

    Sarah Allen
    (my creative writing blog)

  3. I don't know Jennifer Lawrence, Kathy. I will look up Winter's Bone on Netflix.

  4. That's great. I love that we can connect with others through the books we read.

  5. thanks gran for coming to my site often and leaving me with very encouraging words!

  6. Kelly, you are welcome! Granny-type side hugs to you.

  7. I keep hearing about The Hunger Games but haven't yet read it. On my list…

  8. Mami, agreed, books bring people together!

  9. Aerie-el, they are good books!

