"Catching Fire" Book Review

Catching Fire (The Hunger Games, #2)Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

What makes a book a page turner?

Here’s what does it for me: A book that grabs me on the first page, draws me into the world of the story and the characters populating that world; dialogue that’s believable; twists and turns in the story that leave me gasping for breath as I turn the page to discover what words come next.

An act of defiance by Katniss Everdeen ensures that she and fellow tribute Peeta Mellark win The Hunger Games. Katniss and Peeta, still teenagers, have succeeded in ensuring that their loved ones are safe, well fed, and protected. But for how long becomes the question when President Snow pops in for a visit, reminding Katniss that he will never forget how she deceived the Gamemakers.

As Katniss and Peeta begin their victory tour through the Capitol and prepare to compete in a new set of games, there are rumblings of dissatisfaction among the citizens of Panem. Katniss, no stranger to responsibility, learns that a rebellion is brewing, and that she has become some sort of symbol of this uprising.

Katniss starts to grow up in Catching Fire; the determination to survive that’s always been a part of her takes on an added dimension as she plans, once again, how she will protect her family and friends from dangers that have yet to be revealed.

I finished this book on the bus today, and I was not able to contain an exclamation of satisfaction as I read the last page. No worries, everyone just chalked it up to “another one of THOSE people” on the bus.

I’ve got Mockingjay, the final book in this trilogy, on order from Amazon.com

Thank goodness for used books; this poor social worker would be broke if she had to buy all these books at full price.

I just cannot wait for The Seattle Public Library to cough up a copy of this book on their hold list; there are 96 readers ahead of me!

View all my reviews

About boomergrl49

Mom, Grandma, social worker, blogger. I love reading fiction of all kinds, and I'm also addicted to television, especially Fringe!

Posted on June 25, 2011, in Catching Fire, Goodreads, Suzanne Collins. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on "Catching Fire" Book Review.

Comments are closed.

