Happy 11th Anniversary to me!

Tomorrow, June 6, 2011, I’ve lived in Seattle for 11 years.
Eleven years ago, my mom and I had everything we owned loaded into a U-Haul truck and we left Rochester, New York, my hometown, and set out for Seattle.
My mom called it “the trip of a lifetime.”
It was one long trip.
We started out early every day, stopped at dinnertime and spent the night in a Holiday Inn  that I had reserved ahead of time.
Thanks to a AAA Trip Tik, we had a daily mileage goal, and we kept it, despite me being crankier than hell from driving all the time, traveling in circles just outside of Cleveland, almost sweating to death as we tried to get away from Chicago (I didn’t have the air conditioning on), surviving a tornado warning in Madison Wisconsin, and driving like greased lightning through Montana (no police in sight, and everyone drove like their hair was on fire).
It took me a long time to love Seattle, but the Emerald City finally won my heart.
I love this city, with its loud noises, problems, high cost of living, rain, etc.
It’s amazing to realize it’s a day when the mountain’s out, and I can see Mt. Rainier. 
Sometimes I think about taking a trip back east to my hometown, and maybe some day I will. 
Or maybe I won’t.
We’ll see.
Because Seattle is my home–heck, most of any family I’ve got left is here. 
I’m hoping my brother will move here someday soon.
Right now, I’m going to take advantage of the warm sunshine and take a walk.
Maybe the mountain’s out!
Happy 11th Anniversary to me!
About boomergrl49

Mom, Grandma, social worker, blogger. I love reading fiction of all kinds, and I'm also addicted to television, especially Fringe!

Posted on June 5, 2011, in personal updates, Seattle move. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Gutsy Gran , here's wishing you A Happy 11th Anniversary – Home is where the heart is. You travelled a long way and have found it in Seattle.

  2. Thanks a lot, Keats. Seattle is a great home!

  3. cool!

    Aloha from Waikiki 🙂

    Comfort Spiral

    >< }}(°>

    >< }}(°>

    < °)}}><

  4. aloha, Cloudia!

  5. What an great adventure to set out on. I've been trying to get my family to move to me too, but that's not working out very well. Let me know your secret.

  6. My granddaughter Neve, who was 4 years old, got on the telephone and asked me, “Bunny Beth, can I tell you somezing? I miss you.” My mom and I started making plans that night 🙂

  7. Happy anniversary Gran
    I wish you many more happy years

    hugssss and nose kisses from
    Kareltje =^.^= ♥ Betsie >^.^<

  8. happy anniversary Gran!

