"A Monstrous Regiment of Women" Review

A Monstrous Regiment of Women (Mary Russell, #2)A Monstrous Regiment of Women by Laurie R. King
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Excellent story.

This book led me by the nose, from first page to last, as Mary Russell comes of age, claims her inheritance, and once again steps into a dangerous situation.

And, scarier still, Mary confronts her confusing feelings for Sherlock Holmes.

Mary meets up with her Cambridge friend Veronica Beaconsfield. Veronica’s doing charity work at The New Temple of God, run by a woman named Margery Childe.

Mary, a theology and chemistry student at Cambridge, agrees to tutor Margery about “the feminine aspects of the divine.”

And then, of course, things start to get dangerous.

This second book in the Mary Russell series is even better than the first, catching me unawares at two points in the story, making me sit up straighter and finish the book this weekend instead of saving it for my bus commute Monday morning.

I won’t give away any more details, other than to offer the title of the third book, “A Letter of Mary,” which is on my reading list.

View all my reviews

About boomergrl49

Mom, Grandma, social worker, blogger. I love reading fiction of all kinds, and I'm also addicted to television, especially Fringe!

Posted on May 22, 2011, in A Monstrous Regiment of Women, Goodreads, Laurie R. King. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Wow! Glowing review.

  2. yes, Mami, I really enjoyed it!

  3. Do you buy or borrow your books in paper form or are you a Kindle user?

  4. I do not have a Kindle yet, Lady Banana. I buy some books (amazon.com has some great used books) and borrow from the local library!

  5. I have a Kindle and I LOVE IT….

    I also loved your review; the “feminine aspect of the divine” is a particularly favorite subject of mine…..not usually in fiction, though :))

  6. Sounds good!

    BTW, I have a KOBO and I love it!

  7. Braja, thanks for the comment! I'm excited about getting a Kindle (I'm holding out for the 3G one 🙂

  8. The KOBO looks cool, Teena!

