"The Beekeeper’s Apprentice" Review

The Beekeeper's Apprentice (Mary Russell, #1)The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R. King
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’ve already got the second book in this series, “A Monstrous Regiment of Women,” and will start reading it Monday morning on my bus commute to work.

My favorite books draw me into their world, make me forget that I need to start the dishes, or exercise, or clean up after supper. This book snagged me right from the start, when a young Mary Russell meets the retired sleuth/beekeeper Sherlock Holmes.

Mary Russell, a 15 year-old orphan, is living with her aunt/guardian until she inherits the property and money left by her parents. Living in Sussex Downs, Mary walks a lot to escape her aunt (she’s a meanie).

On one of her walks, the intelligent and no-nonsense Mary meets Holmes, and quickly becomes part of the Holmes inner circle (Mrs. Hudson, Dr. Watson, Mycroft Holmes, and a Scotland Yard employee with a
familiar last name).

As Mary begins her studies under the tutelage of the great sleuth, a villain emerges and the game is afoot.

The story’s a bit predictable, but loads of fun.

“The Beekeeper’s Apprentice” is about Sherlock Holmes meeting his match, and thoroughly enjoying the experience, despite the dangers (what’s new?).

View all my reviews

About boomergrl49

Mom, Grandma, social worker, blogger. I love reading fiction of all kinds, and I'm also addicted to television, especially Fringe!

Posted on May 15, 2011, in Goodreads, Laurie R. King, The Beekeeper's Apprentice. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thrilled to be BACK-

    Warm Aloha from Honolulu

    Comfort Spiral

    >< }}(°>

    >< }}(°>

    < °)}}><

  2. So glad to have you back!

  3. Your enthusiasm and passion for reading are lovely. And lets face it way better fun to read a great book than to do dishes or exercise….happy reading Beth.

  4. Gee thanks, Lilly!

