Monday’s Word

From Dictionary.com:

pogonip: POG-uh-nip, noun. An ice fog that forms in the mountain valleys of the Western U.S.


This word originates from the Shoshone people, meaning thunder fog.


There are no synonyms.


When I think of this word, I’m reminded of the wonderful movie Akeela and the Bee, about a young girl and the National Spelling Bee.

photo credit.

My Facebook friend Trish has offered this word, and it’s another goodie:

nu·bi·lous [noo-buh-luhs, nyoo-] 
–adjective



1. cloudy or foggy.

About boomergrl49

Mom, Grandma, social worker, blogger. I love reading fiction of all kinds, and I'm also addicted to television, especially Fringe!

Posted on December 6, 2010, in Dictionary.com, my favorite words. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. yes, that was a really great film…
    and love the word 🙂

  2. Me too, Muse. Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

