Castle

Castle is a fun television show that’s on ABC every Monday night at 10:00 p.m.

As a middle-aged television viewer who works full time, I find 10:00 p.m. on Monday night a bit inconvenient.

Photo credit.

Hey, I need my rest.

When the third season of Castle premiered Monday night, I was snug in my bed, snoring away.

Thank goodness for my laptop.

Tonight I watched “A Deadly Affair” on ABC online, and as usual, Castle was a hoot and a half.

So here’s the deal.

Castle (dude) is a mystery writer, played by Nathan Fillion.

Beckett (dudette) is a homicide detective (actress Stana Katic).

Thanks to a high political official (I think it was the mayor), Castle helps Beckett and her team solve murders.

And yes, there is sexual tension (tastefully done) between Castle and Beckett.

Rounding out the cast are Castle’s mother and daughter (Susan Sullivan and Molly Quinn), two detectives who work for Beckett (Seamus Deaver and (Jon Huertas)  , Beckett’s boss (Reuben Santiago-Hudson), and the medical examiner (Tamala Jones). There are a few other characters that show up from time to time, but that’s the ongoing crew of Castle.

Besides the Castle-Beckett flirt fest that occurs every week, I think there are a number of other reasons why this is such an entertaining television show.

  • Interesting mysteries to solve every week, some weeks better than others. In the episode tonight, one needed to figure out what a sculptor, a chemistry teacher, and an ex-con who owned a vending machine company had in common. I didn’t figure it out, and I LOVE when that happens.
  • Snappy dialogue that makes me laugh.
  • Characters that are interesting, at times a bit unbelievable (again, I like this, I don’t want to watch a story about regular people, I’m awash in reality every day).
  • The appearance of real life authors that writer Castle hangs out with (James Patterson and Stephen J. Cannell).
I also have to fess up that I would never have started watching Castle if my granddaughter Neve hadn’t talked me into it!
Thanks Neve, you were right about this program. 
It’s cool and fun.
So it’s not Shakespeare, it’s not even Masterpiece Theater, but Castle makes me laugh after a hard day of work.
And there’s nothing wrong with that!
And now I have to go, because there’s a new Ghost Hunters episode tonight on syfy.
About boomergrl49

Mom, Grandma, social worker, blogger. I love reading fiction of all kinds, and I'm also addicted to television, especially Fringe!

Posted on September 23, 2010, in ABC, Castle, Ghost Hunters, Gran and the tube. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hello! I'm following you now from Mckmama's blog frog and wanted to say hi! I haven't seen Castle…I may have to check that out 🙂 We watched last night Dancing with the Stars on our DVR. Wasn't really good though 🙂 Hope you have a good rest of your week! You are welcome to stop by my blog anytime!!! ~Kimberly

    http://www.stinkerpinker.com

  2. Hi Kimberly, thanks for the follow! I haven't watched Dancing with the Stars yet, I've been meaning to though!

  3. Found you from BlogFrog, I'm following you now.
    Please visit my community; http://theblogfrog.com/1233755
    Have a nice day,
    Nan

    http://theblogfrog.com/1233755
    http://beonefineday.blogspot.com

  4. It's good we can watch TV shows on computers now as I can't stay up past 10pm either!

