Seattle is my home

On June 7, 2010, I celebrated my tenth year living in Seattle.

Ten years ago, my mom and I traveled across country, in a U-Haul truck, to be close to my son and his family.

As I drove the truck across country, I felt sad and angry.

We started out in Rochester, New York, my hometown, a city of roughly 200,000 people. I’ve always loved Rochester, longed for it when I’ve lived elsewhere.

Moving to Seattle, a city with over 500,000 citizens, scared me a bit, to be honest!

For the first two years I lived in Seattle, all I wanted to do was move back “home.”

Seattle is a noisy, busy city.

It can be dangerous, at times, the traffic sucks, and it’s very expensive (especially fresh tomatoes, my favorite food).

But sometime around year three, I began loving Seattle.

By 2005, I knew I was learning to love my adopted home.

By the fall of 2007, when I was planning a move either to the midwest or back east, I was shocked by the realization that I did not want to leave Seattle.

I sat down and talked turkey to myself: Girlfriend, face it, Seattle is now your home.

I was stunned as I said these words out loud.

Seattle is my home now, and I really love it here.

So I canceled any plans to move, asked for my job back (which, thankfully, I got), and gratefully settled back into my Seattle life.

I almost left this maddening, wonderful city.

Scares me skinny, as my old buddy Helen used to say.

So I’ve decided to share with you all, on an ongoing basis, why I love living in Seattle.

My home.

Stay tuned.

About boomergrl49

Mom, Grandma, social worker, blogger. I love reading fiction of all kinds, and I'm also addicted to television, especially Fringe!

Posted on August 7, 2010, in life in Seattle, NY, Rochester. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Ya know it does take a long time to get used to a place.. I learned that living in Ca for 20 years.. when I moved back to MI my homestate.. I was calling places by the wrong names for at least 2 years. Glad you are happy where you are now!! 😀

  2. PS loveeeeeeeeee the pic above!!

  3. Carol, I would feel that way if I moved back to upstate NY–no plans to do so 🙂

    And I'm glad you like the picture; I took it, by the Seattle waterfront, in February 2009.

  4. Home is where the heart is. Guess your heart's right in Seattle now.A move is always a big leap into unknown and settling takes time. Enjoy Seattle 🙂

  5. Yes, Keats, my heart is in Seattle right now. It takes time to get used to a new city, a new area of the country! Have a great day!

