viparita karani: DO try this at home

Photo credit: My photo of Yoga Journal article, basics: legs-up-the-wall pose, September 2010 issue, page 70.

viparita = inverted
karani= action

I just tried this pose, and I’m feeling relaxed and rejuvenated, still experiencing a bit of head rush (I got up too quickly, I think), but feelin’ kind of groovy (with a nod to Simon and Garfunkel).

During my work week, I push myself until, inevitably, exhaustion takes over and I just collapse in a heap.

Like last night.

I got home from work, ate dinner, exercised, then tried to watch a movie.

I couldn’t follow the first episode of ‘Pillars of the Earth’ on Netflix.

Then I tried to read.

I did finish this article in Yoga Journal, which was in my mailbox last evening (a wonderful birthday gift to myself was a subscription to YJ).

Anyhoo.

Sitting up was too big a chore for me, so I finally gave up, about 9:00 p.m., and crashed.

It took about two hours (and three cups of coffee) to wake up this morning.

Then I rearranged my studio apartment to gain some wall space for viparita karani.

The article cautions this pose may take a few tries to get right.

After about 15 minutes of rearranging and fiddling around, I realized that my body was as close to the picture as I was going to get today, so I just relaxed for about 10 minutes.

Wow.

Feels great!

Give it a try!

myspace layout codes

myspace layout

About boomergrl49

Mom, Grandma, social worker, blogger. I love reading fiction of all kinds, and I'm also addicted to television, especially Fringe!

Posted on July 31, 2010, in Fat Granny Yoga, Yoga Journal. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. good luck! let me know how you make out, scarlet pimpernel!

  2. Maybe AFTER the MRI on my back, LOL!

    Good for you, Sis

    Aloha from Honolulu 🙂

    Comfort Spiral

  3. sounds like your Sugar took a dive.. I know when mine is low because I have been doing some strong chores etc.. I am just whipped. Hope you re gain your strength. 🙂
    Ps wonder why my blogger is not updated over there because I have written since then a lot! sheesh

  4. Cloudia, on Saturday, I got my legs flush against the wall, and on Sunday, my back hurt a bit 🙂 So an mri is not out of the question after this 🙂

  5. Hey Caroldee, my sugar may have taken a dive! Don't know why the link to your blog doesn't update–I'm going to take the link off, then put it back on, see if that works!

