balance

Photo credit.

I’ve worked hard to balance my life in the last year.

What do I mean by this?

Until August 2009, I was the very definition of a couch potato.

I spent hours, every day, with my laptop perched on my lap, blogging and otherwise zoning out on my buttocks.

But no longer.

During the week, I come home from work, make dinner and take my meds, then rest for a bit before it’s time to exercise, which takes me about 40 minutes in the evening (I’ve added exercise into my day, by walking to and from my work from the commuter bus a few stops before I used to).

Then I bathe, and end up my day either reading or watching a little television before sleep overtakes me.

On the weekends, I add some long walks into my schedule, increase my indoor exercises if it’s raining hard, spend time with my family, and plan some recreational activities (movies, lunch out, shopping at Target).

I guess what I’m trying to say is that I’ve missed blogging, but I will not be spending as much time blogging as I used to, because I just can’t sit still that long.

I have carefully built a life of my choosing, and I take time every day to express my thankfulness for this life, all the good and bad things that have happened to me, that have brought me to this point.

Balance.

My balance.

It’s wonderful to have at last discovered the joy that comes from just being alive, of being physically and mentally active, of being able to have a job that I like (most days), of being able to pay on my student loans (gulp), to hug my grandchildren and be close to my wonderful son.

Now I need to get off this flippin’ computer and go out and enjoy this day!

Happy Saturday!

About boomergrl49

Mom, Grandma, social worker, blogger. I love reading fiction of all kinds, and I'm also addicted to television, especially Fringe!

Posted on July 17, 2010, in personal thoughts. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. enjoy your day!

    Aloha from Waikiki

    Comfort Spiral

  2. it is so wonderful to read a post of sustenance, gran…where someone IS seeking their way…
    just go for it!!

  3. nice to know life has changed for better things and giving you more spiritedness. have a good day!

  4. It was a great day, Cloudia! Aloha!

  5. Thanks, Keats. Life is pretty good right now, peaceful and right for me.

  6. Thank you, Muse! The journey has been interesting…:)

  7. I spend a lot less time blogging than I used to as well, not sure I have found perfect balance just yet though!

    Glad to hear you are happy with your new found balance 🙂

  8. Thanks, Lady Banana! Not sure my balance is perfect, some days are harder than others 🙂 LOL!

