My Yoga book is here!


I’m a book geek.

Many of you know this about me, I guess!

Whenever I want to learn something new, I must begin by purchasing a book. Feeling a book in my hands is, for me, the definition of happiness.

My latest quest is to become a yoga practitioner.

So I bought a used book from amazon.com–I just love buying used books!

And it came today: The American Yoga Association’s Beginner’s Manual, by Alice Christensen.

In the introduction, Ms. Christensen defines yoga: “Bringing the two halves of the personality together in balance and harmony produces a powerful, ethical, balanced person with extraordinary ability.” (page 14)

Wow.

I’ll be happy to be able to perform the dancer pose (above).

This book geek and wanna-be yogi wishes you all a wonderful Sunday.

About boomergrl49

Mom, Grandma, social worker, blogger. I love reading fiction of all kinds, and I'm also addicted to television, especially Fringe!

Posted on January 24, 2010, in Fat Granny Yoga. Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. I keep saying I'm going to try yoga but i've yet to get my tush in gear. I'll be watching to see how you like it.

    Enjoy!

    jj

  2. Good luck. I do yoga with my Wii and it's good fun.

  3. DJ, I'm slow getting started because of this yucky cold. I've heard about Yoga on the Wii–sounds fun!

  4. Joanna, I so slow right now because this cold is kicking my tush. Cheers.

  5. Go for it when that yucky cold leaves you!! In my aerobics class, during the 2nd half of the hour, the teacher incorporates yoga poses and it's great.

  6. Nice posting. Do you know about these yoga books?

    http://www.yogavidya.com/freepdfs.html

  7. Ha ha guess what my daughter got me for Christmas? Yoga and pilates DVDs. Its been great fun! Every morning I get up to do them and is so much more relaxing than other exercise. Hope you have fun with it. Happy 2010 to you by the way!

  8. Get well soon, Beth and congratulations to your Yoga book. I have the video – and shame on me: I never have used now…I know…bad, bad…and I should loose some pounds too 🙂

  9. Oh I love used books too.

    You inspire me!

    Aloha, Friend!

    Comfort Spiral

  10. Yippieeeeeeeee…….
    I wish you success!!
    Go for it it feels really good 🙂
    Yoga is ver relaxing …

  11. what? you love books?
    really?
    i never knew… LOL 🙂
    you are such a card, Gran…a queen of hearts, in this Muse's deck…(ok somedays when you are wild…I put you in the Ace pile!)

    Can't wait to hear how the visuals help your yoga journey!

  12. And what do you do with the books after you have read them? I stopped buying books when I ran out of shelves and space. 😛

  13. ECL, I just keep piling them up 🙂

  14. Hey Muse! Thanks!

  15. Aloha, Cloudia, and thanks!

  16. Susanne, it's taken me years to get motivated!

  17. Lilly, good for you! I'm glad you are doing yoga also!

  18. Thanks for the advice, Keats!

