Fat Granny Yoga

So I’m starting yoga at home.

And I’m starting slowly, with The Prayer Pose.

I just got my yoga mat, and I’m ready to go.

I’ve lost 46 pounds in the last 5 years; 20 of those pounds have been lost since August 2009.

When I lose another 25 pounds, I will no longer be considered obese by the medical community.

Thanks to a combination of weight loss and diabetes medication, I have a lot more energy.

I’ve been talking long walks outside, weather permitting (or sometimes in the foulest of weather), and I’ve been doing a walk at home program about 3-4 times a week.

But I want to do more, because I’m feeling better.

So I’m going to start yoga, ever so slowly, at home for now.

And I’m going to share my experiences with all of you.

I’ve decided to call these posts “Fat Granny Yoga” not to berate myself, but merely as a statement of fact.

I’m not as fat as I used to be!

I was going to name these posts “not as fat as I used to be granny yoga,” but that title is too long and clunky.

So fat granny yoga it is!

I start tonight, using my new yoga mat (on sale at Target).

I’ll keep you updated, once a week or so, about my progress (my slow progress).

Namaste.

(And wish me luck 🙂

About boomergrl49

Mom, Grandma, social worker, blogger. I love reading fiction of all kinds, and I'm also addicted to television, especially Fringe!

Posted on January 17, 2010, in Fat Granny Yoga. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. You are my inspiration

    Aloha, Gran

    Comfort Spiral

  2. Aw shucks, Cloudia! Thanks!

  3. Congratulations on your persistence and tenacity. Looking forward to your posts.

  4. Thanks, lakeviewer! It's going to be slow going, but that's just fine with me!

  5. You are my hero…

    I need to go buy a mat now too…

    🙂 🙂

  6. I used to do yoga.. when I was 18, it was lovely being so flexible.

    I'm way to lazy to do it now 😦

    Good luck with it, I hope you keep us updated with your progress – with any luck you will inspire me – in time! 🙂

  7. Warning for you, Muse: Between my walk yesterday and practicing one yoga pose, I'm a bit achy this morning! LOL!

  8. Lady Banana, it took a diagnosis of diabetes to motivate me 🙂

