The old man with a cane

photo credit

I first noticed the old man late last summer, as I waited for my bus.

He was bent over, relying on his cane heavily, taking baby steps.

Looking straight ahead, as he walked down the street.

Some days I saw him walking to his destination; other days he was coming back.

I’ve seen him almost every day since, except when there was snow in our neighborhood.

Monday morning, I got to my bus stop and looked across the street.

The old man was walking, erect, with his head held high.

And he was carrying his cane.

This old man has taught me a lot, about aging, self-respect, and about living each day to the fullest.

The photo above is not of the old man in my neighborhood; it’s just a picture I found on Google.

About boomergrl49

Mom, Grandma, social worker, blogger. I love reading fiction of all kinds, and I'm also addicted to television, especially Fringe!

Posted on May 7, 2009, in aging, personal thoughts. Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Great slice-of-life, Gran!!
    Aloha

  2. Thanks, Cloudia! Aloha!

  3. Live it to the fullest no matter what stage we are in.

  4. Wow gran what a great story.

  5. Amazing story.. I hope he is well and on his way to a new way of life. Take care : )

  6. What a great story!

  7. Wonerful post, Gran.

  8. In every word…a picture…

    Marvelous Gran 🙂
    Marvelous!

  9. Wonderful story, Gran.

  10. Good lesson in dignity and perseverance!

  11. Thanks a lot, Tammy!

  12. Too true, lakeviewer. Take care.

  13. Susan, thanks for the visit!

  14. thanks, Grandpa!

  15. Muse, I appreciate your great comments. Thanks!

  16. Caroldee, he looks like he is doing well!

  17. You are right, Dakota Bear!

  18. Floyd, thank you so much!

  19. In a mood like this, you’ll love the little prayer I’ve left for you on my post 🙂
    xxx

  20. I love the insightful story. Let’s keep walking and keep living!
    Have a good day!

  21. I always wonder why the elderly still insists on walking or moving around despite having difficulty. They want to keep moving or else their life would stop too.

  22. ECL, we need to keep moving as we get older!

  23. Thanks, Keats!

  24. Braja, it was a great prayer.

