"The Reader"

The Reader The Reader by Bernhard Schlink

My review


rating: 5 of 5 stars
I loved this book.

I found it a quick read (once I started reading in earnest), a simply told yet moving story about a young man infatuated with an older woman.

Schlink uses words sparingly, but well, as he tells the story of Michael and Hanna.

The early scenes between Michael and Hanna are embarrassingly erotic; I felt like a voyeur, reading these few passages about a teenage boy and a grown woman.

Most of the story deals with the aftermath of their affair, and Michael’s continued fascination with Hanna as the years go by.

Excellent story, very human characters.

View all my reviews.

About boomergrl49

Mom, Grandma, social worker, blogger. I love reading fiction of all kinds, and I'm also addicted to television, especially Fringe!

Posted on April 5, 2009, in Bernhard Schlink, The Reader. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you for the review. Another book to add to my long list.I like your Spring headers.

  2. I think this will be my next read, thank you for the review Gran 🙂

