The Pillars of the Earth

The Pillars of the Earth The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett

My review


rating: 5 of 5 stars
It took me ten months to finish this book.

Hey, I read a lot of other books before I picked this one up again.

The Pillars of the Earth starts slowly, then about midway it picks up speed and unveils a ripping good tale of 12th Century England. It’s not just a story about the building of a cathedral.

The Pillars of the Earth is about the people who devoted their lives to the cathedral’s construction, and the few who tried to stop the church from being built. It’s a story about people, how (and why) we as human beings take sides along the paths of good and evil as we live out our lives.

I’m going to try to finish my next reading project, The Reader, before starting World Without End, which is the sequel to Pillars of the Earth.

View all my reviews.

I’m going back to work tomorrow, feeling much better.

I got a chance to finish my book today!

About boomergrl49

Mom, Grandma, social worker, blogger. I love reading fiction of all kinds, and I'm also addicted to television, especially Fringe!

Posted on March 31, 2009, in Goodreads, The Pillars of the Earth. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Reading this book was like building a cathedral, Gran! Aloha! 😉

  2. Thank you for the review. I know about finishing a book long after you start it. I have many of those in waiting.Glad to hear you are feeling better. Don’t over do it.

  3. Well I will put this on my list… 🙂 Needless to say i am happy you are feeling SPRY 🙂

  4. Can you still remember what it is about after you stopped reading it for a while? I would forget if I do that. That’s why I have to finish reading a book if I start it. 🙂

  5. Thanks, Dakota Bear. I’m going to take things a bit easy today at work 🙂

  6. eastcoast, there were so many other books I wanted to read, and this was such a long book. The book hooked me enough, I think, so I kept it on my nightstand stack of books to read.

  7. Exactly, Cloudia 🙂

  8. thanks, Muse. I hope you are well.

