Work IS Joy

Photo credit.

Have you ever considered the benefits of work?

Money is utterly cool, but I’m talking about the non financial benefits of work.

Having something to do, every day, that takes me away from my own dreams, desires, problems, issues, etc., is greater than any (small amount of) money I get from working (I work for a nonprofit, after all).

Work defines my days, and my weeks.

There’s also the satisfaction I get from doing my job well (I’m told that I’m good at what I do, thankfully by my employer). Which is good, because I invested seven years and ~$100,000 on my education.

HA!

I got home from work tonight, tired but very satisfied, after my day of work.

As I listened to the news, about our horrible economy and all of the jobs being lost, I said a silent prayer of thanks for my job.

Sure, I’m glad I can pay my rent, make my student loan payments, and enjoy cable television and internet.

But what’s even better is the chance to use my brain every day, to have a place to go every day that’s not my studio apartment, to work with a team of passionate, caring professionals.

I could go on and on.

But I’ll spare you more of my ramblings (at least for now).

I’m just happy to have a job, a profession, a calling if you will.

And now I’ve got to go, because it’s time to get ready for another day of blissful toil.

About boomergrl49

Mom, Grandma, social worker, blogger. I love reading fiction of all kinds, and I'm also addicted to television, especially Fringe!

Posted on February 24, 2009, in Thoughts from a blissfully boring life. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. You are very cool!Aloha

  2. So are you, Cloudia! Aloha.

  3. It’s always good to find value in ones day.

  4. So true, Dakota Bear. thanks!

  5. Blissful toil…hmm….well, I agree, but it needs to be something that feeds the soul, not drains the energy…

  6. So rare to find one who’s happy going to work. 🙂I enjoy my work too but around me, I see more expressionless, disgruntled workers. They are like robots, dreading work and complaining daily.It’s great to be able to work!Hey, enjoy your stay at the hotel. Snap some pics for me to see. 🙂

  7. Braja, agreed. I went to college late in life, and I love what I do now. That makes a difference! Some days just working for a living drains the energy, so I’ve learned how to enjoy my off hours.

  8. I feel badly for the expressionless, disgruntled workers–we have lots here too. I guess I’m lucky to enjoy my work.I will take some pics, eastcoast. I will only be gone one night. Take care!

  9. There is no better feeling in the world than the feeling of “mattering” or having purpose. No matter how big or how small your job.Peace – Rene

  10. You’ve got that right, Rene! Thanks!

  11. After my accident I feel almost lost not working and being around my friends and feeling well at the end of the day you have accomplished something.

  12. I’m so sorry, Floyd, about your accident and not being able to work. Hugs to you, my friend.

