I made it through the pain

Photo credit.

And a nod to Mr. Barry Manilow.

Last night was one of those bad nights, when my arthritis pain was kicking up something fierce.

It was a combination of the damp weather we are having here, plus I did not exercise enough last week.

And I didn’t consume enough fruits and vegetables, nor did I drink enough water.

Bring on the pain.

I’ve always been the type to reach for a pill to stop the pain, but I’m trying to avoid over-the-counter medication.

I fell asleep easily last night, but woke up about 2:00 a.m. in a lot of pain.

After tossing and turning for awhile, I got up, used some arthritis rub and heat, and moved around.

Then I pulled out my laptop and read some blogs.

And read my book for a bit.

Finally, about 5 this morning, I fell asleep.

And miraculously woke up at 8:0 a.m. free of pain.

I’ve been busy all morning, cleaning and finishing my laundry.

And I made a delish fresh fruit salad for breakfast.

This afternoon, I’m going to take a little walk around the neighborhood.

But right now, I’m celebrating making it through the pain.

And I’ve got an idea for some blog posts I’m hoping to start soon, about my years working in restaurants and retail stores.

I’m going to change things around a bit, so I don’t get sued, but I have some hilarious stories to pass on about working in small, independently owned businesses.

Stay tuned, and have a great day.

About boomergrl49

Mom, Grandma, social worker, blogger. I love reading fiction of all kinds, and I'm also addicted to television, especially Fringe!

Posted on January 11, 2009, in arthritis, pain, the weekend. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. First, take care arthiritis is painful. I get it in my ankle where I had an accident once. Second, yes love restaurant stories. My ex owned a big catering company and then opened restaurants. Id had nothing to do with the hospitality industry before. It was a baptism of fire. Will love reading your stories!!

  2. I’m sorry you have arthritis, Lilly. No fun.I’m working on a post now, and hope it will be out in the next 2-3 days.

  3. I have Rheumatoid Arthritis from time to time. I can say I have it under control so far, if… if I’m eating right and right means: a lot of vegetables and fruits, no pig at all (!!!)no pasta (no starch)and no sour food and salty things. And I’m fine always if I take control of all that. It works! 🙂I wish you a lot of pain free time and looking forward to your stories.< HREF="http://sues-daily-photos.blogspot.com/" REL="nofollow">Sue’s Daily Photography<>

  4. Sorry to hear you’ve been in pain.. One thing it was a weekend night.. even worse if it was a workday night…Wish you well 🙂

  5. Susanne, those are such good things to do, but I have a hard time giving up starches. But I will keep trying. Thanks!

  6. So true, Lady Banana! I didn’t have to get up at 6:30 a.m.!

  7. move some things around so you don’t get sued,,read over at reason blog, there is a man that does it for a living and CNN interviewed him.

  8. Floyd, I’m on my way over now!

